No-Interest Loan for Deferred Action

It sounds like a dream come true.  And in a way it is. Thanks to an anonymous donor the NYC DREAMer Loan Fund can help you pay the $465 fee for the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals Program (DACA). The fund is administered through the Neighborhood Economic Development Advocacy Project (NEDAP), which is working with community groups.

The community groups will provide free screening assistance and help you fill out the application. Once that’s done, they’ll send you to  NEDAP, which will connect you with either the Brooklyn Cooperative Federal Credit Union (BrooklynCoop), or the Lower East Side People’s Federal Credit Union. The credit union will actually make the loan and you’ll have to repay it on a monthly basis for a year.

The video has all the details.

And these are the groups that are participating so far:

African Services Committee

429 West 127th Street, New York, NY 10027

Contact: Jessica Greenberg at 212-222-3882 x.134, or email immigration@africanservices.org.

Arab American Association of New York

7111 5th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11209

Phone: 718-745-3523

DACA@ArabAmericanNY.org

DACA Legal Assistance Times: Every Wednesdays 2pm – 6pm

Languages: Arabic, Urdu, French, Spanish

Cabrini Immigrant Services

139 Henry Street, New York, NY

Closest subway: F train to East Broadway

Time: Wednesdays 9am – 7pm; Saturdays 12 – 6pm

By appointment only.

Contact: 212-791-4590 ext 100, or info@cis-nyc.org

Languages: English and Spanish

Chinese Progressive Association

83 Canal Street, Room 304 (near Eldridge Street), New York, NY

Contact 212-274-1891 or irp@cpanyc.org for appointment and information.

Languages: Chinese and English

EyeOpeners DREAMERS Project/El Centro del Inmigrante*

1546 Castleton Ave, Staten Island, NY 10302

Contact Reina Ubaldegaray  347-538-0935.

Queens Community House

74-09 37th Ave., Suite 400, Jackson Heights, NY 11372

By appointment only.

Contact: Carmen Gutierrez, 718-898-7461 ext. 13 , or  cgutierrez@queenscommunityhouse.org

La Union

DACA Legal Assistance Times: Every Friday from 4pm-6pm

5406 4th Ave, Brooklyn, NY 11220

6025 6th Ave, 2nd floor, Brooklyn, NY 11220

Contact: Leticia Alanis, 917 291-9408, or  lalanis@la-union.org

or Isabel Herrera,  347 294-5958 or iherrera@la-union.org

Make the Road NY     
92-10 Roosevelt Ave, Jackson Heights, NY 11372

Contact: Natalia Lopez  347-845-6674 or 718-565-8500, ext. 4456, or natalia.lopez@maketheroadny.org

Languages: English and Spanish

MinKwon Center for Community Action

Contact: David Chung, 718-460-5600 x212, or david.chung@minkwon.org

136-19 41st Ave., #3FL, Flushing, NY 11355

Languages: Korean, English

 By appointment only.

New York Immigration Coalition

www.thenyic.org/deferredaction/register

Contact: Silvia Gonzales, 212-627-2227, ext 239.

Languages: Spanish and English

Northern Manhattan Coalition for Immigrant Rights

665 West 182nd Street, Ground floor, New York, NY 10033

Hours: Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm.  No appointment needed.

Contact: 212-781-0355

Languages: English, Spanish

Jacob A. Riis Neighborhood Settlement House

10-25 41st Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101

By appointment only.

Contact Melissa Miranda at 718-784-7447 ext. 129, or mmiranda@riissettlement.org

Languages: English, Spanish

Volunteers of Legal Service

Note: Capacity is limited and VOLS is only able to provide legal services to students who attend partner schools at this time.

281 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10010

Contact: Elizabeta Markuci 347-521-5707, or emarkuci@volsprobono.org

Youth Ministries for Peace and Justice

1384 Stratford Avenue, Bronx, New York 10472

Contact:  718-328-5622

 By appointment only.

Languages: English/Spanish

Watch our video How to Apply for Deferred Action

You can download this article by click here: No-Interest loan for Deferred Action

 

 

Published by

Barbara Nevins Taylor

As the winner of 22 Emmy Awards and a slew of journalism honors and awards, I created ConsumerMojo.com to give you the straight story about complicated stuff. Tell us what you want to know and we'll get you the answers.